Sunday Symphony

Sundays at 7 p.m.

KUAF 's classical music host, Katy Henriksen, brings you the grandest of symphonic works in full each Sunday night at 7 p.m. during KUAF's Sunday Symphony.

Composer ID: 
KUAF Sunday Symphony
3:51 pm
Fri May 15, 2015

KUAF Sunday Symphony for May 17, 2015: Arvo Pärt's Tribute to the City of Angels

Cesare Beccaria is quoted in the liner notes to Arvo Pärt's four symphony which is dedicated to Los Angeles. He says " ... grace and pardon are all the more necessary as the laws are absurd and the sentences are cruel ..."

Written in 2008, Pärt's tribute to the city of angels is the highlighted symphony in this Sunday's KUAF Sunday Symphony, which airs at 1 p.m. Sunday afternoon on KUAF-2 and 7:30 p.m. on KUAF 91.3 FM.

Read more