Katy Henriksen

KUAF host of "Of Note", Arts Director and contributor of "Ozarks at Large"

Katy Henriksen is a Fayetteville native who grew up in a musical household. She began violin lessons at age six and later added voice, viola and piano to her musical studies. She was briefly a music major at the University of Arkansas before switching over to print journalism (B.A. '00, M.A. '03) and she's been covering arts and culture ever since, both here in Northwest Arkansas and in New York City, where she lived from 2004 to 2008. 

She's covered arts and culture for the Brooklyn Rail, New Pages, Oxford American, Paste, the Poetry Project Newsletter, Publishers Weekly, Venus Zine, Wondering Sound and others. You may have seen her documentary Rare Edition, about the Dickson Street Bookshop, on AETN. Her favorite violin concerto is Mendelssohn's Concerto in E minor. In addition to joining KUAF as the classical music and arts producer, she's the music editor for The Rumpus, an online cultural magazine based in San Francisco.

Ways to Connect

The Arkansas Philharmonic Orchestra opens its 2017-2018 season this weekend by commemorating World War I and II through sonic exploration.

The eclectic program, which weaves many smaller works together, includes the iconic first movement of Beethoven's Fifth, which was used by Allied forces in World War II. Find out more in my interview with Music Director Steven Byess.

John Jeter, Music Director of the Fort Smith Symphony for twenty years, explains the Kool Kats to us.

Katy Henriksen gives us a preview of next week's Mozart in the Museum collaboration between KUAF, Artosphere from Walton Arts Center and Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art.

"Satori (Awakening)" is a meditative violin concerto named after the Zen Buddhist tradition of "seeing into one's true nature." Penned by University of Arkansas Music Professor Robert Mueller for his violinist daughter Tara Mueller, the work receives a world premiere performance in collaboration with the University Symphony Orchestra in concert 7:30 p.m. Monday, May 1, at the

Sophia-Odelia Bauer

Thanks to this new feature there are at least 12 hours worth in Of Note episodes available at all times. Listen to the latest in handpicked compelling classical via on-demand streams of Of Note episodes right here.

Schubert & Symphonies by Banjo Edition:

Shrouded in Shadows Edition:

Pop & Brahms Edition:

An Evening with Leonard Bernstein Edition:  

Suk's Angel of Death Edition:

From Final Fantasy to Shostakovich Edition: